I’m Not a Blogger. Never Wanted to Be. Now Please Read My Blog.

Oh, HAI! Nice for you to stop by! I’m Shelby – a 23 year old feminist activist, speaker and writer who has, thus far, been too busy (read: too scared) to join the amazing space that is the feminist blogosphere. Today, that changes.

Actually, I used to have a blog. I updated it when something particularly egregious was said or done and no other feminist blogger got to it first or covered it adequately. Because our community is robust, on the ball and at least someone is on point most of the time, I didn’t post all that much. This was fine by me – I share my ideas and thoughts by traveling across the country and speaking to audiences about sex education and feminism and am usually too busy rushing between airports and buses to put down coherent thoughts in anything other than Twitter form. Plus, there was that absolutely-terrified-of-putting-myself-out-there-and-being-eviscerated thing.

Yet, I’ve recently felt the pull of the blogosphere. As I become more outspoken in my feminism, I want to put my thoughts and ideas out there for the community to bounce off of, to critique, and expand upon. Most of all, I want to showcase what I see as I travel across the country: a vibrant network of young gender justice activists organizing in ways very specific to our generation.

I’m writing a book on this cohort, what I’m calling the ‘Forth Wave’ of feminism. Many of us in the Forth Wave found and continue to develop our feminism online. We use the internet to consciousness raise, plan rallies and fundraisers and readings, and collectively expand our movement. To opt out of this community, to continue to lurk and comment but not contribute, is for me, no longer an option.

So, here I am. A new blogger. A new feminist blogger, to be specific. I’m making a commitment to you and to me to post as often as possible, to try to be brave in my writing, to make mistakes and to try to correct them. I’m making a commitment to be real in this space – to allow others in on my personal journey in hopes that other young women will be encouraged to do the same.

I want this blog to be one that uplifts women’s voices and stories and is a tool in the battle against all forms of oppression that make the world less free and safe for all of us. To that end, I’ll post on women’s representation in the media, women’s history, on-the-ground activism and happenings in the young gender justice movement, as well as my personal experience as a Forth Wave feminist coming into her own. Check out the site and let me know what you think so far. I would be ever so grateful for guest posts, tips and links, and suggestions on how to be a better and more effective blogger. Of course, I’d also appreciate readership, tweets, and comments!

Welcome to what I’m sure is going to be a wild ride – honored to have you along for the journey!

16 Comments

Filed under Feminism, Uncategorized

16 responses to “I’m Not a Blogger. Never Wanted to Be. Now Please Read My Blog.

  1. You’re absolutely right–140 words just isn’t enough sometimes. I am one Third Waver who can’t wait to read your book.

  2. Tanya

    Hey Shelby! Caught your promo for this site on FB glad you are going for it! I love that other people can really have time to do the research then educate those of us who don’t have that time!

    Looking forward to being more aware & hopefully more involved in feminist issues!

  3. welcome Shelby! we loved having you in Buffalo and are happy to see you blogging.

  4. Hey Shelby – can’t wait to read it. Still so glad to have met you on Monday!

    Sarah

  5. Welcome to the peopled void! Have fun!

  6. Congrats, SK! Excited to read what you have to say. Feel free to you the Abortion Gang as a space to cross post, if you need.

  7. Glad we met recently! I don’t have twitter, so it will be nice to read what you have to say.

  8. It’s nice to have met you recently! I don’t have twitter, so it will be nice to read what you have to say here.

  9. Eve Langford

    It all began when Eve was blamed for original sin!
    However, in my opinion Eve is innocent. Have just written a book showing how the beautiful myth of Adam and Eve had origin in pre-biblical Mesopotamia in the epic poem of Gilgamesh.
    Here is the creation of a man fashioned like Adam from clay. Here too is first man in the garden paradise, and the meeting between a naked man and woman – there is even a serpent.
    The big news is that in origin their story was uplifting and had nothing to do with original sin – Eve was framed!
    Read ‘Eden: The Buried Treasure’ by Eve Wood-Langford and tell the story to all the Eve’s you come across.
    Look forward to your book.
    Kindest regards – keep up the good work

    Eve

  10. So glad you started a blog! I’ve been following you on Twitter for a while and it’s great to have another platform to read about you, your life, experiences and thoughts.

    I’ve said this through email already, but I read your about page and I really, really love the part in it on privilege and it’s great to see someone who is taking a straight-forward, honest and sincere approach on their blog.

    It’s amazing that you get to travel across the country and have on-the-ground experience in activism. It’s amazing to see someone my age who is out there, leading by example and revolutionizing the way people think.

    It’s wise to publicly admit to making mistakes because far too often in the feminist blogosphere, there are immense amounts of trolls always looking to call us out on often overlooked misplaced wordage or put us down for our sometimes radical ideas, which is something that should never be put down. Also, we are very quick to do it to each other, which is sad in a lot of respects. Instead of supporting one another, we often look to find mistakes other feminist activists are making in their webspaces. To error is human and even feminists make mistakes and have something to learn; as soon as we realize that we are in this together, the sooner we start making bigger strides and celebrating bigger and better accomplishments.

    Good luck with your blog, I added you to my blogroll and I’ll be sure to come back and read whatever you have to say frequently!

  11. Courtney

    Hey Shelby! Best of luck on your blog. I’m very excited to read it. I saw you speak at Sarah Lawrence College in 2006 and always really enjoyed hearing about your adventures.

  12. MWN

    Hey Shelby,

    I’m excited to read your blog! I saw you speak (and saw the doc) like six years ago in high school at a Repro convention…the One Voice Summit? I don’t remember, it was with SEICUS, Sierra Club, Planned Parenthood, and Youth…? Anyway, I’ve loved you since then. You spoke at my school (Barnard) at this semester’s Sexhibition but I am studying abroad and couldn’t make it–I almost died from disappointment.

    Welcome to the blogosphere!
    –Mia

  13. Don’t you love it when you’re all “I’m not a blogger I’m not a blogger I’m not a blogger,” and then you can’t keep the thoughts in your head anymore?

    I’m glad you’re around — enjoyed your piece on Jezebel today!

  14. I see that Eve Langford left a reply. I read her book last month on Eden the Buried Treasure and found it very interesting. Eve, I would enjoy hearing from you as I would like to ask some questions of your book. Contact me via my e-mail at wrmattfeld@gmail.com

  15. Pingback: Your Handy-Dandy Map to the Feminist Movement – Queer People

Leave a Reply

